Alex Ross: The rest is Noise: A Nightafternight playlist

Xenakis, Metastaseis A, Terretektorh, Nomos Gamma; Arturo Tamayo conducting the Orchestra Sinfonica RAI and the Residentie Orkest The Hague (Mode)

Lisa Streich, Pietà and other works; Vokalensemble Kölner Dom, Niklas Seidl, ensemble recherche, UT insieme vocale-consonante, Gregor Mayrhofer conducting the Lucerne Festival Orchestra (Wergo)

Wang Lu, Urban Inventory and other works; Third Sound Ensemble, Holland Symfonia, Alarm Will Sound, Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, ICE, Ensemble Intercontemporain (New Focus)

Michael Pisaro, Shades of Eternal Night; Pisaro, Reinier van Houdt (Gravity Wave)

Paganini, Caprices; Augustin Hadelich (Warner)

Bach, Goldberg Variations; Peter Hill (Delphian)

Samir Odeh-Tamimi; Lámed and other works; Zafraan Ensemble, Salome Kammer, Manuel Nawri (Kairos)

Messiaen, Catalogue d’oiseaux; Pierre-Laurent Aimard (Pentatone)

Joan La Barbara, as lightning comes, in flashes, Autumn Signal, CYCLONE; La Barbara, Bruce Ditmas (Mode)

Jürg Frey, Late Silence, Magnus Granberg, How Vain Are All Our Frail Delights; Ensemble Grizzana (another timbre)

Michael Hersch, cortex and ankle, Black Untitled; Ensemble Klang (Ensemble Klang Records)